The customer acquisition cost (CAC) is the total amount of money that a company spends on acquiring new customers. To calculate your CAC, simply divide your total marketing and sales spend for a period of time by the number of new customers acquired during that same period. For example, if a company spent $100,000 on marketing and sales over the course of a year and acquired 100 new customers, their CAC would be $1,000. Customer acquisition costs will vary greatly from business to business and should be carefully monitored to ensure that they are in line with your overall business strategy.